All jurisdictions have statutory time limitations for bringing building actions.

In the Northern Territory, South Australia, Tasmania, and Victoria the period is fixed at 10 years, while in all other jurisdictions it is six years.

An exception to this is when a claim is based on a contract under seal or deed, where the period is 12 years. Extensions of this period can be granted in very limited circumstances.

The time limitation period generally begins on the date that a breach of contract or wrongful act occurs. The following table specifies the relevant legislation for each state and territory.

Appendix 1, Table 7: Australian statutory legislative time limitations.